So Let it be Written, So Let it be Done!

January 14, 2009

How do you break up with someone with whom you’re not in a relationship

Filed under: kamakula — kamakula @ 3:31 pm
Tags: , , , ,

So, there’s been someone I’ve been “hanging” out with for a couple months now. We probably seen each other two or three times a month. It’s been casual and for me has been at the “let me see if I get to like her more” though perhaps there was a bit of I’m want to have someone to chill with involved as well. So while we’ve been hanging out, that’s what’s its been. Just friends. No expectations. No obligations. Though I suspect there may be a desire for more.

Now I’ve started seeing other people and frankly I enjoy the time spent with them a lot more. I don’t know if it’s the age difference, personality, or what, but truth is truth. And given the way school is going to balloon to fill my free time, and the likely potential that I’m going to continue to date other people, the good thing to do is to cut her loose now. Because I know I’d rather spend time with others and I’m not the guy who keeps people around just so I can call them on the off chance that nobody else is available.

I’m not one for beating around the bush. If there is beating to be done, one should grab straight at the root, and what’s left of the good guy in me, who survived the bastard coating of bastard filling is saying you should tell her, it’s been cool hanging out, but I think we’re both looking for different things. There’s even a voice in my head that says I should call and say this, rather than sending a txt message. Damn this technology, because five years ago, I would not have even considered txting someone to say this. . . perhaps I would have emailed. . .

I’ve had people drop me by just ceasing to respond to communication. If things had been going on for more than a month, I generally felt that I deserved at least a “it wouldn’t have worked” conversation. But now I see that there are a couple issues with that. One, it’s hard to come up with what to say in that conversation, even for such a talented wordsmith as I. Two, even if you know what you want to say, you probably don’t really want to actually say it. Three, if I actually did have that conversation, I’d have probably attempted to convince them to reconsider, and I don’t want to have that conversation knowing that I have no plans of reconsidering at all.

Ok. . . I’m going to make the call.

2 Comments »

  1. is this the married craigslist girl? 😉

    Comment by Fermi — January 15, 2009 @ 7:52 am | Reply

    • No. The married CL girl is actually more fun too…

      Comment by kamakula — January 15, 2009 @ 12:08 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

