So Let it be Written, So Let it be Done!

September 2, 2008

Google Chrome, Sarah Palin, and my Vacation

Filed under: kamakula — kamakula @ 3:55 pm
Tags: , , ,

Wow,

I cannot believe I did not know about this. There were hints, rumors, but now it’s out!! The google browser. I’m writing this post from google chrome. It provides a lot of things that I’d been wishing were present in Firefox. Separating tabs into their own processes (for some reason, accessing several different banking sites at once tends to bog down my browser), an incognito mode, having my most visited pages open in the “new tab” – sometimes I don’t like leaving tabs open to a site if I’m done reading it for the day, and much more.

People who know me will know that I’m going to be all about Google Chrome for the next week. But skipping that, let’s move on to politics. This weekend, I’m in a McDonalds in Santa Monica watching the fairly unbalanced Fox News when I see a discussion about vice-presidential picks. I notice the name of some woman, Sarah Palin. I think, hmm, wonder who she… nooo, don’t tell me that McCain…

I ran and grabbed my buddy’s iphone. A minute later, I had confirmation, McCain had picked her for his VP. I have my theories on this. They involve Republican sex scandals. I’m going to have to think some more to try and phatom a reason why that pick was made. Reminds me. . . I wonder if Jon Swift has anything on this.

So, my california vacation finally happened!!! Spent the weekend in Newport Beach with an evening in Santa Monica where I managed to somehow get on the wrong side of a friend of my buddy who’d invited us to a party that night. Apparently, I “make friends too easily” and I guess it looked like I was hitting unabashedly on a couple married women. I’m intrigued by her response to me for various reasons. 

  1. I don’t make friends easily, I’m a pretty shy guy. But I’m also tired of being the one who stands there not talking to anybody. My buddy is kinda the same way, but he had a leg up. He knew the chick there and primarily wanted to talk to her anyway.
  2. I’m not immune to attractive women but I don’t hit on people who are married. The way our conversations went, this info came up in the first couple minutes (the husband of one was there “How do you know everyone here?” and the husband of the other graduated from my college “My buddy and I know each other from RIT, he knows chick from Pittsburgh”).
  3. If that wasn’t enough or didn’t come up, I usually check ring fingers before any real flirtation. . .
  4. What was I supposed to do at a party where I only knew the dude I showed up with?
  5. When I tried to make conversation with her, she quite nearly gave me the cut. Quick answer, then she was out, walking to go chat with some other people.

Anyways, I still had a pretty good time later that night, ahh, Santa Monica, I will not soon forget you. Driving up to Detroit was also an adventure in its own. Had a run in with US Customs where they spent about an hour trying to prove I was NOT a US Citizen (I’m pretty sure all they pulled up all the available info on me in the first 5 minutes).

I just realized another cool thing about Chrome. Since each tab is its own separate processes, I can be signed into multiple wordpress, gmail, or any site accounts SIMULTANEOUSLY. No longer do I need to sign out of my general mail account to check my ebay or banking stuff. I can just do it the way it was meant to be done, by opening a new tab.

This is what I call intuitive. Sure, Apple does a good job, but Google has really created something where a browser works the way I expect it to work, without me having to find all sorts of third party apps, windows hacking, and other whatnot to get what I want.

Edit: As of 3:58PM EST, it looks like I was wrong. You can’t be signed into multiple accounts on the same system simulatenously. At least not via email. This would suggest they’re not quite splitting things into separate processes as they claim.

3 Comments »

  1. So, I found a way to sign into multiple accounts simultaneously. However, I’m not happy about it. You’d need to open an incognito window. I’d rather keep everything in tabs in one window. The fact that it’s an incognito window and not a tab suggests there is some sharing of cookies or something among tabs, despite their being independent processes.

    Comment by kamakula — September 3, 2008 @ 11:21 am | Reply

  2. Isn’t Google Chrome still technically a Beta? Perhaps they will make it so that you can do exactly that. At which point, I’ll probably give it a try for myself.

    Comment by J.R. Bernard — September 9, 2008 @ 1:05 am | Reply

  3. Yeah, I’ve been submitting bug reports like crazy everytime I find something that I expect it should do (or something that used to work with IE or Firefox) that doesn’t work.

    They’ve silently been pushing updates out. I’ve noticed for example a bit more handwriting support – nice because I sometimes surf the net while taking notes in class 🙂

    Comment by kamakula — September 9, 2008 @ 9:18 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

