So Let it be Written, So Let it be Done!

July 30, 2008

Ahh, Finally a relaxing week

Filed under: car,grad school,kamakula,pittsburgh,writing — kamakula @ 12:39 am
Tags: , , , ,

Despite the fact that it is 12:30AM and I’m at work (I took a few hours off between 10 and 12 to goto my Tuesday night hangout – the Shadow Lounge), this is still a pretty relaxed week. Yes, there is some work to be done on my car, but nothing approaching the amount or intensity of any weekend in the previous two months.

I can now actually get out again and do stuff. . . or go places and not do stuff if I so desire. Perhaps it was the alcohol, or perhaps it was the affirmation, but I feel really good right now. Let me explain:

Tuesday nights at Shadow Lounge is open-mic night. I’ve gone up a couple times to share things and this week, during the break, I made an effort to go and chat with a couple people (after first talking with the chick who seemed to be eyeing me when I first came in). Anyway, someone told me that they liked my presentation from last week.

I was floored because frankly I feel that most people who come up are on a much different level than I. Even with that in the back of my head, I still felt good hearing that. Hopefully, this keeps up through next week when I’ll do a more or less finalized version of this.

Tonight, I also again put the car through some paces. . . whew, I’m falling in love all over again! This is a good thing. I already know that events such as accidents or major failure tends to alienate people from their cars and they usually end up selling it once it’s fixed. I’m glad that I still have the same enthusiasm for it. One thing that helps is that the car is, as my cousin put it on Saturday, “timeless”. I just love the look and can see myself with it for a long time. Having 50 more HP doesn’t hurt either 🙂

I’ve always felt that I could do well enough without having others to validate me. Certainly, that is a trait necessary for survival in a small company or research lab. But validation definitely has its good sides. Even though I’ve got a minimum of three more hours of work before I leave to catch some Zzzs, I feel really hyped to get my work done.

I think this is how I envisioned my entire summer experience. I’d work reasonable hours and be relaxed enough to enjoy it, even when doing boring things. Now, my goal is to attempt to replicate this zen-like feeling during the school year. I talked with a TLH friend online this evening and he mentioned leaving to go play volleyball. I definitely reminded me of the big sports void in my life. I’d love to get back into a volleyball and/or soccer league. That will definitely be on my calendar this fall semester!

2 Comments »

  1. I am glad things are better now than when you spent all of your time fixing the car.
    What kind of car is it again?

    And validation. Yes it is a wonderful thing, especially when it is for something that is essentially you, like what you read at open-mic-night.

    At least for me, I consider the results of my creativity the essence of my being.

    Comment by Fermi — July 30, 2008 @ 8:24 am | Reply

  2. It’s a 98 BMW 318ti. . . well, technically, it’s now a 328ti 🙂

    Yep, I think in robotics, it’s kind of built-in. Every time I complete a project or get something working, I know I’ve walked into a relatively small realm of people who’ve done the same thing (if at all). But I guess there is something within me that naturally derives satisfaction in that work. I think I’m lucky 🙂

    Yeah, in other areas though, I’m not as confident or self-promoting/congratulating. I think I even talked about this in a post a couple months ago…

    Comment by kamakula — July 30, 2008 @ 12:20 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

