So Let it be Written, So Let it be Done!

July 21, 2008

It’s Alive!!

Filed under: car,kamakula — kamakula @ 11:43 pm
Tags: , , , ,

After a month and a half of spending whole weekends fixing my car, not to mention week days working full time while attempt to track down parts and negotiate good prices, the car finally runs!

There are still some issues:

  • Need an auxiliary fan to keep the engine from overheating in slow city traffic.
  • Need to figure out how to fix the driver’s side window
  • Need to get the ABS working
  • Exhaust work needs to be done (this week).
  • Buy and install AC compressor
  • Swap suspension for stock 6cyl stuff
  • Clean up car.

Aside from that, it runs pretty well. The extra 50hp shows up everywhere. It’s very noticeable in the low and high range. 1st and 2nd gear barely exist the car goes through them so fast and it’s a lot more torquey in 5th. 3rd and 4th feel the same, though the car is likely a lot faster there as well.

The good news is that now my weekends are back to being rest and relax. . . I suppose installing AC compressors is relaxing compared to my previous weekends 🙂 But having this done makes a big difference. I can focus more at work and spend less hours there since I won’t be distracted with looking up stuff for the car. This will also free up my week nights for relaxing as well. Rather than the work/sleep/repeat grind.

The other good thing about having my wheels running is that I can now go out again. That part of my life has been on hold for the past month and a half as well. I wonder if the haitus has been good for me. I’ve certainly started thinking that I want to explore other places than just the SouthSide. I feel like I’ve hit saturation on the demographic of people I’m going to meet there. I need someplace with different kinds of people.

It’ll take some time. One reason I’ve stuck with the SouthSide is Tiki Lounge. There was something about that place that attracted me and is very comfortable for me. I’m pretty much a regular there, friends with the bartenders, waved in by the bouncers, etc. Even acquaintances of mine seem to know that the Tiki Lounge is “my spot”.

Still, I’m tired. Time to sleep tonight. Will need to spend several hours tomorrow cleaning the apartment and car.

1 Comment »

  1. Congratulations on getting your car to work!

    Comment by Fermi — July 23, 2008 @ 10:46 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

