So Let it be Written, So Let it be Done!

June 4, 2008

Mundane Mundo

Filed under: blogging,grad school,kamakula,pittsburgh — kamakula @ 9:11 pm
Tags:

This is probably the blandest post this blog has ever seen. Why, because it’s just an snapshot of what is going on at the moment. Not that the others were not, but here I’m not really going to talk about my motivations, fears, plans, thoughts, or emotions. I’m just going to state what’s been going on.

So, I’ve been on the job for three days now. Unfortunately, yesterday was the start of a cold that has since gotten worse. I knew something was wrong when I woke up more than 2 hours later than I expected with no recollection of hearing my alarms. Then today that became 4 hours later.

I feel confident that by the end of this week, I’ll be past the initial warm-up period as I get acclimated to the new environment, people, and work I’ll be doing. I must say that CMU has a weird computing system in place and (in my view but probably I’d do the same if I was their master sys admin) draconian usage policies for their internet. Once again, I’m reminded of how superior RIT’s system has been compared to every other university that I’ve been a part of.

Car-wise, things are moving along. I’ve found a garage that I can rent for $25/mo. So, the car will be towed there this weekend. I’ve also located a replacement engine that I can get for about $150 less than I’d expected to pay. If things go smoothly, I should have the car running in time to drive to DC as I’ve planned in July without my parent’s ever knowing something was wrong. Well, I’ll likely tell them, but it will be after things are fixed.

My reading pace has dropped off since I was in high school. However, one thing being carless has afforded me is time to read. On the bus ride to and from work, I have about 45 minutes of reading time. The plan is to consume a book a day during the week (since weekends will be mostly me working on the car and being too tired and too dirty to pick up a book). I wonder how many kids of the current generation check out books the way I do now, much less the way I did when I was younger?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

