So Let it be Written, So Let it be Done!

May 3, 2008

I’m the Beast of the East and the Best in the West

Filed under: kamakula — kamakula @ 8:01 pm
Tags: ,

So, for whatever reason, I decided today to re-attempt one-handed pushups. I was always jealous of Jennifer Gardner’s character in Electra for being able to do them. After failing miserably, I decided to look at some youtube videos of people doing it to see if there were any special tricks to maintaining balance or if I was just too weak.

Well, turns out there are a couple tricks. The most important one – spreading your legs. Widening your stance gives you much great stability. So, with that, I was able to bang out a few one-handers with the left and right hands (yay – no strength bias!).

There are a couple other things I need to work on to help maintain stability as well as to increase my reps. Certainly improving core strength, which I’m already working on, will help. Also practice will help me learn how to better shift my weight to remain balanced with only one hand.

Certainly, it will be interesting the next time me and the guys are working out and I slip in one-handed reps when we start doing pushups 🙂

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

