So Let it be Written, So Let it be Done!

April 16, 2008

And Gladness Filled the Land

Filed under: kamakula — kamakula @ 12:06 am
Tags: , ,

If I could sing, I’d sing the song of happiness.

Yes, I can shout, I proclaim my heart is full.

My worries quenched, my soul is happy,

because my friend, my friend is here to stay.

If I could draw, I’d draw us sitting together.

If I could paint, I’d brush a mural.

I’m glad I met you and that I can be there for you,

to put a smile, to brighten up your day.

Nate’s father once told me that good friends are hard to come by. I know that to be true, given that I’ve had very few at any given time. I’m really blessed that at this point of my life, I’ve got five on that list. This is the most I’ve ever had at a time. People I can discuss almost anything with, perhaps not with any one particular person, but amongst all of them. Friends that share my ambitions, my politics, my confusion, my happiness, and my pain.

A few minutes ago, I realized that my worries were unfounded. You have no idea how happy that made me. I thought that it didn’t bother me too much. That I was shouldering it ok. But clearly, there is a huge weight off my chest. Another friend, from the past with whom we’re slowly getting reacquainted has mentioned a few times in the past couple days that I sounded different. I suppose that despite my abilities to deadpan jokes, when I feel hurt, when I’m worried, or concerned, I’m unable to hide that from others. Or maybe it was so fresh, I didn’t have time to bury it deep inside like other things.

I hate scabs. . . they cover wounds, heal over, yes, but they still leave an ugly mark. I’m glad there is one less for me. This must be my reward for working so hard these past two days. I’m definitely going to keep it up. Perhaps this week will continue to delight and surprise me even more than it already has.
________________________________________________________________

Oh, another cool thing. So, I participated in the olympiad at Trinity with the RIT robotics club. Myself, Alex, and Alan. Well, turns out we won second place! The team (including me) each won an AVR butterfly! Even more awesomeness, MDRC also won the spirit of competition award.

I find it interesting that the groups I get involved with, particularly those involving robotics, always tend to win awards like this. We may not always do well in the actual competition, but we always come out as knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful. I suppose I’m attracted to similar kinds of people. We always get involved in too many things, stretching ourselves in classwork, robotics, helping with homework, and other things. I’m really proud of those guys.

Since I need to visit Rochester some time in the next month or so to pick up my prize and some stuff I forgot in Hartford, I really need to think of a way that I can show these guys how impressed and proud I am. Definitely need discuss with Nate on how we can surprise MDRC.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

