So Let it be Written, So Let it be Done!

February 9, 2008

Becoming a Better Grad Student

Filed under: grad school,kamakula — kamakula @ 12:28 am
Tags: , ,

I’m slowly making the transition into being a good grad student. I worry that my initial period may adversely affect my grades (ie make the difference between an ‘A’ and a ‘B’). This is very important – those in a similar situation know this. Hopefully I can get to a point where I’m more or less working efficiently.

Today while working on project, I read A PhD is Not Enough. It kinda validates some things I’ve been thinking about and alleviates some concern I was having about finding a research project with which to get involved. I really want to focus only on those within my area of interest in robotics. Even though I have interests in other fields, long term, I’m going to be in robotics so I need to establish a track record of doing work in that area. So, even if it means going without a definite research position/whatever for a few months or longer, I think it would be worth it for me to find a project that best advances my abilities and career in that area.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

